Begum Rokeya University Admission Test Circular 2023-24

Begum Rokeya University Admission Test Circular 2023-24 has been published in the university notice board and website. BRUR Bachelor (Honours) Admission Exam 2023-24 will be started soon.

Begum Rokeya University (BRUR) Overview

Begum Rokeya University, Rangpur (BRUR), formerly Rangpur University, is a government-financed public state university in Bangladesh. It is the only general categorised university in Rangpur Division and also the second public university in the region. The university has been named after the feminist writer and social worker Begum Rokeya. It is the 30th public university of Bangladesh. It was established on 8 October 2008 under Begum Rokeya University Act, 2009.

Begum Rokeya UniversityThe university is located between Rangpur Cadet College and Carmichael College in Rangpur. It covers an area of 75 acres. The university has constructed four academic building and started class from August 2011 in the main campus. Currently, the university has twenty-one departments and amount of student is almost seven thousand. It contains three student halls (including two male and one female). There is a library and a cafeteria in the campus. Since 1947, a university in this region has been a long cherished dream. A popular demand for a kind of university which can reach out to a large number of students desiring higher education in this vast region has always been intensely felt but has never been fulfilled. In 2001, the then Prime Minister, Sheikh Hasina laid the foundations of Rangpur University of Science and Technology.

However, later on the establishment was cancelled. It was not until August 2007 when Fakhruddin Ahmed, Chief Advisor of the Caretaker Government, agreed in principle to establish a full-fledged university in Rangpur. Finally, Fakhruddin Ahmad, in a historic cabinet meeting held in Rangpur on 2 February 2008, took the decision to establish a University in Rangpur. The Rangpur University Ordinance was approved by the cabinet on 15 June 2008. M. Lutfar Rahman was appointed the first vice-chancellor on 20 October 2008. Two days later Hossain Zillur Rahman, the then Education and Commerce Advisor to the Caretaker Government formally inaugurated the university.

Begum Rokeya University Faculties and Seats

Unit, Faculties, Seats and Application Fee are given below :

Unit Faculties Seats Application Fee (with service Charge)
A Faculty of Arts 195 440 TK
B Faculty of Social Sciences 375 605 TK
C Faculty of Business Studies 245 495 TK
D Faculty of Science 280 495 TK
E Faculty of Engineering and Technology 100 385 TK
F Faculty of Life and Earth Science 120 385TK

Begum Rokeya University

Requirements For Admission Test

Unit Group Minimum GPA Total GPA
( With 4th Subject)
A Unit Arts 3 3 6.5
Science 3 3 6.5
Commerce 3 3 6.5
B Unit Arts 3.5 3 7
Science 3.5 3.5 7.5
Commerce 3.5 3.5 7.5
C Unit Arts 3 3.5 7
Science 3.5 3.5 7.5
Commerce 3 3.5 7
D Unit Science 4 3.5 7.5
E Unit Science 3.5 3.5 7.5
F Unit Science 3.5 3.5 7.5
Arts/ Commerce 3.5 3 7

For GCE level “O” Concerned competitors need to go in 5 subjects and level “B” needs to go no less than 3 subjects. A levels competitors need to pass 2 subjects and need to get review “B”. Their inquiry will give English dialect if essential.

Important Dates For Admission Test

Application Starts:
Application Last Date:
Admission Test Date:

Application & Admission Test Procedure

Every applicant should be applied for their expected subjects/department through official website